Trees and Me

Ever since my last post on Spring Haiku, I’ve had a serious case of writer’s block. Granted I’ve been quite busy at at work leaving me feeling weary in the evenings, but even in my free time, my mind has been tired. I’ve felt off balance, and uninterested in some of my hobbies, for reasons I still have not figured out.

But luckily, the weather has been very nice for the last couple of weeks, allowing me to spend a lot of time outdoors, where I could ground and recharge. Until today. Today was cloudy, cool, and rainy. But that’s okay! I finally got the chance to sleep in a bit, without feeling guilty that I should be engaging in outdoor activities. It also allowed me some quiet time to reflect, and new writing ideas to grow. So I am working on some new projects.

But first, I want to share a couple of poems I found while I was poking through my notebooks. I don’t have the authors’ names; I actually think I found these on greeting cards somewhere along my journey, and saved them for future inspiration.

As I was reflecting on my outdoor activities over the past couple of weekends, I realized that I had been paying quite a bit of attention to trees, admiring them as I always do; feeling a strong connection to them. Perhaps the fact that I was paying particular attention to trees was part of my grounding process. Or perhaps it’s just because I’m one of those “tree-hugging Nature lovers”! Whatever the reason, finding these poems again and thinking about the various trees I have studied, even meditated on, over the past few weeks, did in fact bring me inspiration. And so I share them with you…

The Tree and Me

You may look at it and see
Only a tree,
But when I look at it,
I see me.
Its trunk is all twisted
Like it’s taken some lumps;
Its history is full of knots and bumps.

But if you look to the top
When the buds grow fast,
You’ll see the tree is leaning
Away from its past.

And as it reaches up into
The God’s blue sky above
Its trunk may bear pain,
But its branches
Bear Love.

Leaning Tree

 

The Oak Tree

A mighty wind
blew night and day
It stole the oak tree’s leaves away,
Then snapped its boughs
And pulled its bark
Until the oak was tired and stark.

But still the oak tree held its ground
While other trees fell all around.

The weary wind
gave up and spoke,
“How can you still be standing, Oak?”

To the wind, the oak tree said,
“I know that you
Can break each branch of mine in two,
Carry every leaf away,
Shake my limbs and make me sway.
But I have roots
Stretched in the Earth,
Growing stronger since my birth.
You’ll never touch them
for you see,
They are the deepest part of me.
Until today I wasn’t sure
Of just how much I could endure.
But now I’ve found,
With thanks to you,
I’m stronger than I ever knew.”

 

Oak Tree

 

Through trying times in our chaotic world, may we all stand strong, roots stretched into the Earth, while reaching for the sky!

Blessed Be,

Crystal Dolphin

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Trees and Me

  1. Nice post, sis!

    I’ve always had an affinity for trees as well, and these poems express such feelings quite well.

    Thanks for sharing. I need to go out and hug a tree before the day is over!

  2. nice, i love trees also, there is one song that came to me while medatating under a tree. aonay aonay spirt of tree come to me. aonay aonay spiret of tree be one with me. aonay aonay spirit of tree stay with me, and good friends we,ll allways be aonay aonay aaaaaoonaaay. was a nice day and it just came to me while i medatated under the tree.

Leave a Reply

